India 2016

All but a memory now, or was it all just a dream? My jet lag was like a dose of medication slowly bring me back into reality. The reality is- coming back to a country with much uncertainty. What happened? It was very much like going to sleep for three months, and waking up to find out things had changed… drastically.

What happened during my trip, you might ask? The 2016 presidential election happened, an interracial marriage, and demonetization in India- all in the span of three months!

People ask me- “did you have a good time in India?” I look back and all I can think of is a world wind roller coaster. I absolutely love roller coasters, don’t get me wrong, but the things that were happening in the U.S? It was like a coaster ride- half excitement gushing up and down through tall scenic mountains/ half haunted horror house scare!

Yes, I had a good time! My experience in India was kind, self reflecting, and beautiful, but there were many times that I felt like I was staring out of a window to the world in which I came from, viewing it, thinking- could it be true; what’s going on?”

Now I’m back and though India seems all but a happy dream, at least I was able to capture a few images. Flipping through these photos I remind myself- oh- but it was all true.

“Oh but a dream, so it had seemed. Here was my India 2016”

-> view more images

img_7408

 

img_7106

-> view more

One thought on “India 2016

  1. Pingback: 2016 in review Politics #1 Year of dissonance | Marcus Ampe's Space

Leave a Reply

